jump to navigation

Lenten Listen #6: New Multitudes February 27, 2012

Posted by Matt in Lent.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

This collection from Jay Farrar (Son Volt), Jim James (My Morning Jacket), Will Johnson (Cetro-matic), and Anders Parker is one that I found out about some time ago, but only discovered today that it will be released tomorrow. Fortunately, I was alerted to a site where I could stream the album in its entirety, a nice preview before purchasing it in the near future. This work is a collection of lyrics by folk legend Woody Guthrie that were never put to music, so with the blessing of his estate, this group of alt-country stalwarts took on the task.

I discovered Woody Guthrie years ago through the works of other artists, people like Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen and the Wilco/Billy Bragg, who recorded two complete albums of his music. His liberal ideals spoke to me as I began my turn from apathy to the political left some 10-12 years ago, discovering my sense of social responsibility and my belief in peace and love as the greatest of virtues.

So, naturally, I love songs from this album like “My Revolutionary Mind.”

I need a progressive woman.
I need an awfully liberal woman.
I need a socially conscious woman.
To ease my revolutionary mind.

Fortunately, my wife has stuck around as I’ve changed over the years. She’s come a long way too.

Comments»

1. greg - February 28, 2012

amazon daily deal. $3.99

2. Matt - February 28, 2012

Thanks, Greg. I know what I’m buying when I get home today.

3. greg - February 29, 2012

After listening to it a couple of time yesterday on aol site, I had to get it as well.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

